|
home : best of bloggerheads : photoshopping : rupert murdoch : mps and weblogs : email tim ireland : search engine optimisation : viral marketing : weblog marketing |
|
| Bloggerheads Archives :: welcome to the hard shell | |
|
to front page to date archives to category archives national service © Tim Ireland 2004-2006 Design by Wibbler RSS | RSD | Atom |
|
|
« Rebekah Wade offers a masterclass in mob control | Main | Meet Tanja Suessenbach of Lexcity.org Ltd » February 25, 2008Meet Joseph Chikelue Obi and his army of supportersThe Register would have you believe that another ISP has cowardly caved to ridiculous legal threats, but I know better because I've read and heard the personal testimony of Doctor Joseph Chikelue Obi... Dr Joseph Chikelue Obi Sensationally Appears On YouTube ! professorjosephchikelueobi.com - Dr Joseph Obi Wins Again !: Well, I must say, he's won me over... that is an *excellent* strategy, and I for one can't wait to try it myself now that the supporters of Let's begin with the video linked above, brought to YouTube by WellnessFM:
Like this video @ WellnessFM and this video @ WellnessFM, Obi's appeal has been posted as a video reply to a largely unrelated but also largely popular video; this means that we cannot even reliably guesstimate how many interested parties there are (for or against), as an unknown amount of traffic has originated from the resulting referral link. The 'links' has been turned off, so we can't see where any other inbound links are coming from. Finally, the only positive comment allowed under this video (so far) is this one: However, it's a start. Nice official-sounding and reassuring name, too. Following the profile link takes us to the YouTube Channel of MedicalDoctors: Primary external website link: http://www.MedLC.org Oh dear. That's not good. But let's press on. I'm sure there's a reasonable explanation for all of this, and it would be wrong of me to obsess over a possible sock-puppeting when there are real issues to be dealt with. Looking up more about MedLC.org, I find this announcement from the General Medical Council Opposition Network: General Medical Council Opposition Network - General Medical Council (GMC) fails bid to block Government Registration of Medical Licensing Commission (MLC): The General Medical Council Opposition Network (run by someone who describes himself as 'only a Sidekick of this Eminent Medical Rebel' (i.e. Professor Joseph Chikelue Obi) urges its readers not to send them money directly to support their 'Abolish The GMC' campaign; they instead request that you direct money to the (third-party-provided) bookstore of Professor Joseph Chikelue Obi, the (third-party-provided) merchandise store of Professor Joseph Chikelue Obi or royalcam.org (see above). But it wouldn't do to assume that the General Medical Council Opposition Network is run by Professor Joseph Chikelue Obi, as some Wikipedia editors have recklessly claimed while discussing edits like this one from someone else with an official-sounding and reassuring username; MedicalNews. Besides, the General Medical Council Opposition Network has received this shining endorsement from someone who also wishes us to know that we should Apply4Cash.co.uk Primary external website link: http://www.Apply4Cash.co.uk Erm, let's move on, shall we? What I'm going to do is take these endorsements for Professor Joseph Chikelue Obi and the Medical Licensing Commission at face value and see what else I can learn from these non-poisonous websites. Appearing on the above website and on the MLC website is a (third-party-provided) animated Flash ad. The full script for this ad is below: This is Maria your medically qualified wellness consultant speaking. The Grand Master of the Medical Licensing Commission has kindly asked me to put you through your professional registration paces. Thankfully, he will be passing by from time to time to see how well we are getting on. We really do have so many administrative formalities to cover in such little time, so I must publicly request all qualified medical graduates to email all of the necessary documentation and fees without delay to enable us to duly induct them into a brand new clinical profession. A brand new clinical profession, you say? Headed by And it sounds like they have a *lot* of work to do. Wow, no wonder Grand Master Joseph Chikelue Obi is so concerned that some bloggers are colluding with the GMC in a clear attempt to undermine his reputation! Thankfully, now that I look closely, I can also see some bloggers batting for him: The British Loans weblog carries a supportive article entitled 'Royal College of Alternative Medicine Boss Defeats General Medical Council'. Primary weblog URL: http://www.north-east.org.uk/ (formerly used to promote an english school by 'DrJCObi@aol.com') Erm, moving on, Grand Master Obi also enjoys the support of the NHS Alternative Medicine weblog, and... Primary weblog URL: http://www.nhsalternativemedicine.com/ Erm... well, there are lots of other weblogs supporting him, too. Look: The UK Credit weblog Profile: Same Blogger profile used for UK Credit, Irish Loans, Self Care Clinic, Cancer Care Clinic, Self Medication Clinic, Irish Doctor ... and the Medical Licensing Commission (M L C) Erm... No, I'm sorry, but you cannot shake my love for this man, his mission to protect other human beings, and his downright adorable desire to give punctuation the breathing space it deserves. I'll carry no truck with any blogger who dares to question his credentials, mock his entrepreneurial leanings or suggest that he is such an irrepressible quack that he now seeks to begin an independent accreditation system for all quacks, because - while he may not have an army of supporters - he's still got *me*. And the worst that I'll say about him is that I think it *might* be fair to say that he *may* be projecting a little when he claims to be the victim of 'Internet Spamming Technology'. - Related bloggage: Related articles: Posted by Manic on February 25, 2008 4:59 PM in the category UK Libel Law Pings (Trackback)For trackbacks, this is the URL: Comments A friend has been doing a bit of digging and has discovered that some of Obi's Irish companies are registered at a Belfast address which turns out to be a PO Box. This is illegal under Irish company law. Really, really fucking big scary monsters you-are-going-to-jail-for-fraud kind of illegal, I hope. That Evening Chronicle article is astonishing - I especially liked the bit about him nicking all his furniture from the neighbours! Posted by: Wolf Solent at February 25, 2008 5:51 PM He sounds just like the kind of doctor the Prison Medical Service used to be on the look out for. Posted by: jailhouselawyer at February 25, 2008 5:58 PM Mind your tongue, Wolf Solent. He merely borrowed furniture, and has not yet had time to return it. Posted by: Manic at February 25, 2008 6:02 PM He is, however, *definitely* nicking bandwidth from the BBC site, to return to an earlier controversy for a moment... Go to http://www.blogger.com/profile/07410580387095945138 and click on the 'NHS cake' graphic. Posted by: Wolf Solent at February 25, 2008 6:39 PM Hahahahahahaha! So the GMC got to *you* too. :o) Posted by: Manic at February 25, 2008 6:50 PM Hi Very interesting entry. I've done some further research myself based on some information from the UK electoral register (cost me a tenner, but some interesting stuff there). The Gateshead address you've posted here is actually his old residential address. (he has a new one). I've blogged on my findings here - http://layscience.net/?q=node/32 - if you're interested. Keep up the good work, Posted by: mjrobbins at February 25, 2008 11:57 PM Thanks, Martin - and welcome to Bloggerheads. Post updated. I note in your post that properties where The Obi One is currently living cost "around 75k". Yesterday I tripped over the sale price of his old property... ... which was just under 75k (£74,950). My current theory is that The Obi One has no desire to climb the property ladder when he can instead send all of this excess income to war orphans. Posted by: Manic at February 26, 2008 8:30 AM I notice that Googling for "Netcetera" or for "Fasthosts" reveals a nice cross-section of the controversy about each in the top 10 hits. That's good. I guess ISPs aren't going to grow any guts until it's clear that, if they jettison a customer to make their lives easy, they will lose business. Posted by: Crink at February 26, 2008 11:37 AM My estimate of £75k was pretty close then! I'm working my way through some more Obi-paperwork at the moment, so I may blog again on the subject very shortly. Posted by: mjrobbins at February 26, 2008 12:46 PM I look forward to it. I just blogged some extras myself: Posted by: Manic at February 26, 2008 1:11 PM As promised: a new entry here on dodgy business registrations and some potentially interesting accounting. Loved the new blog by the way. I feel we're really beginning to build up the big picture about this guy. [mod: Link fixed. No HTML in comments, but URLs will automatically generate a hyperlink. Cheers.] Posted by: mjrobbins at February 27, 2008 1:07 AM Post a commentThanks for signing in, . Now you can comment. (sign out) (If you're new to Bloggerheads, you may need to be approved by the moderator before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.) | |